I TOO CAN, CAN’T I?

Yes you can

Yes you can change the world

Yes you can move mountains and rock the world

And dive the seas and see beyond, and make it worth your while

But try you must, mustn’t you?

 

No you can’t

No you can’t change who you are

No you can’t cease to be a pauper and become a king

And bring the change you wish to see, it won’t be worth your while

Can’t you seeyou can’t?

 

But others have

Others who had dreams like me

Had no gold or silver but dreams so golden and real

With visions, motivations and aspirations all beyond lack of provision

So I too can, can’t I?

 

 

Others tried and failed

They traded their lives with freedom

Democracy they never lived to see or enjoy its fruits

You have a future and dreams; you can’t sell your youth to the people

Can’t you see it’s hard?

 

Others tried and made it

Great leaders were once ambitious youth

The great Jomo Kenyatta, Oginga Odinga, Harry Thuku, Nelson Mandela

The great Barrack Obama; name them, didn’t they all begin as youth with zeal and zest?

I too should, shouldn’t I?

 

Yes I can, yes I will

Whether stones bleed to death or oceans dry from anger

Whether banks drain from corruption and the rich click and murmur

Money and a name I may not hold, but my dreams and youthful skills shall I sell

Till you believe I surely can.

 

One thought on “I TOO CAN, CAN’T I?

Leave a Reply

