Bread crumbs

They said,

That pain and pleasure never meet,

Because they never lived in the ghettoh

Where pain and pleasure are twins

Where your moments of joy dictate your extent of poverty

 

The morning dew washed my face

For water’s less and time so scarce

My stomach groans and back aches

Lazy bones they say it is

But hunger and pain I know it really is

 

Slow but sure I squeeze my way

Not minding the scratches and cuts I earn

From the rusty Iron sheets of our neighbour’s door

The boy next door is my friend of age

But today he’s nowhere to be seen

 

His brother came the other night

With a massive loaf for them to feast

And new clothes so rare to find

So today’s no day for friends

Who’ve got nothing new to show

 

I hide behind the plastic barrel

Not to spoil the golden chance

Or earn a slap like I did last night

Then kneel down to lick the spilt juice

And collect the fallen crumbs of bread

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Bread crumbs

Leave a Reply

